May 2020 update

With Covid-19 my medical situation has been in limbo. I learned today that Penn Medicine has resumed elective surgeries, so I’m on the schedule now to have a Ureteroneocystostomy on Wednesday, May 6. This procedure will reimplant my ureter so that it hopefully will not be restricted anymore by the retroperitoneal fibrosis mass. I will be overnight in the hospital.

The plan will be to cap the nephrostomy tube for now until the success of this procedure is known. I’ve had this tube for 2 months and I’ve got to say I’m fairly sick of emptying the bag.

Prior to my procedure I will have a Covid-19 test. I’m not concerned about the result, as I’ve been very careful. I’m just not looking forward to the physical test.

Thank you for your support. I’ve been on a crazy medical journey now for two years, and it doesn’t seem to have an end.

About Pendrew

Father. Transplanted Bostonian. Science fiction fan. Camper. Cyclist. Lover of a good beer (but not a snob about it). Ailurophile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment